Coach, Marketing Director

Tell us about yourself.
I grew up in Yucca Valley, CA where I attended and graduated from Yucca Valley High School. I moved to Sioux Falls, SD where I went to Augustana College. I graduated in 2014 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Administration. After graduating college I moved to Omaha, NE where I lived for 6 months. I have lived in Carlsbad since January 2015 and absolutely love it! As much I loved the Midwest, I am a California Coastal girl through and through. I currently work at Callaway Golf Company in Customer Service. I’m just busy running a one woman operation over here, enjoying sleeping in the middle of the bed, eating dinner on my couch, and dog sitting for all the adopted niece dogs I have.

How did you get into CrossFit?
My sister and brother in law having been doing CF for a while and kept encouraging me to try it out. Once I graduated college I knew it was going to be super easy to get out of a regular workout schedule so I decided to find a box in Omaha. I knew that I would need something that was a bigger financial investment than $10 a month and had people holding me accountable to actually go to the gym. My very first workout included slam balls and I was instantly hooked.

How did you become a part of Carlsbad CrossFit (C2)?
My gym in Omaha was awesome and was the hardest thing to leave when I moved. I fully intended to do some serious gym shopping once I moved to Carlsbad because I had very high standards. From the moment I walked into C2 all my standards were exceeded and reset. I loved how hands on the coaching was, the camaraderie between all the members, and the genuine interest for all staff and athletes to see each individual succeed and achieve more than imaginable. I right away stopped my search, joined C2, and haven’t looked back since.

How has CrossFit benefited you beyond the gym?
There is something very intoxicating about being a strong woman who can handle her own. Since joining CrossFit I’m stronger, more confident, eat better, and care for my body more. I love being able to lift heavy things outside of the gym and impress people by my strength. I work in a male dominant industry so I welcome any chance I get to prove I’m not a weak girl. I have also made many friends throughout my time doing CrossFit from all over the country who encourage me on a consistent basis, not only as an athlete but in everything that I do.

What is your favorite WOD?
Annie, and anything involving Thrusters, Wall Balls, and Kettle Bell Swings

What is your least favorite WOD?
Anything involving running, burpees, and Handstand Push Ups

What else do you like to do in your free time?
Play golf, go hiking, hang out at the beach/by the pool, enjoy a good craft beer, consume massive amounts of tacos, and spend time with my family and friends.